The tree, the proud symbol of Gush Etzion, stands in all its glory at the western entrance to Alon Shvut. The Lone Oak is over 600 years old.
For 19 years, after the fall of the settlements in 1948, the sons and daughters of the Etzion Bloc looked at the tree from afar, until the Six Day War of 1967, when the area was restored to the State of Israel and they were able to return.
With the support of the Ministry of Tourism, and the Ministry of Agriculture, the site will be undergoing renovations in the upcoming weeks. The renovations will include making the site accessible for people with restrictions, fixing up the surrounding area and setting up lights, installing bathrooms for the many visitors, installing little climbing structures for kids and a 3-D display of Gush Etzion.